Which came first: the chicken or my dinner?

I was driving home from work today and the car in front of me had bumper sticker that said

“Try Compassion, Try Vegetarian”

And it had a picture of a baby chick on it. We were at a stop light so I stared at that sticker for a few minutes. I know I promised no rants and I’m not saying this is one. Let’s just call it an ode to my freedom to eat meat.

Here’s the way I view religion. You believe what you want to believe and I’ll believe what I want to believe and that’s that. Why do you need to convert everyone?

And that’s how I look at the way people eat. I like to eat meat. It’s just the way I am. Please don’t try and convince me to be a vegetarian by showing me cute baby cows and chickens and pigs. I love cute cuddly farm animals as much as the next girl but I can’t help it, cows and chickens and pigs are delicious when they are all grown up.

And It’s not their fault. They don’t try to be extra delicious. They are just living out their purpose.

Which is another point: What is the purpose of a chicken? Seriously? Can someone tell me that because the way I see it chickens become food or they make eggs which can either become more food or more chickens and there the cycle continues.

Note: I don’t agree with the terrible inhumane treatment of animals. I passed a slaughterhouse in Texas once and I swear the cows were stacked on top of each other. I couldn’t eat beef for a week.

If we could just fix that, things would be great.

Here’s the point. Please don’t rub your vegetarianism in my face and I won’t rub my meat eating tendencies in yours. You do your thing and I’ll do mine.

Thank you

Here’s your happy moment.

Check out more Daily Grace here: http://bit.ly/ryBF7m

Leave a Reply

