Grocery store? More like grocery SNORE!

I love grocery shopping

I hate grocery shopping alone

When you shop alone, you have no one to talk to, No one to share recipe ideas with, No one to talk you out of bad food choices and impulse purchases. It’s boring.

Whenever I grocery shop alone, I end up talking to myself and calling my family members over and over to clarify the list. I also end up buying stuff that I shouldn’t like donuts and cheesy popcorn and more nail polish which I always want and never need.

When I was a kid, my dad did the grocery shopping on the weekends and we would fight over who got to go with him. Grocery shopping meant going out to lunch. My choice was always one of two places: the first was big boy. I’d get a “girled” cheese with fries and a sundae with extra cherries. (Yeah, I was an adorable child). The second choice was McDonalds because who doesn’t love getting free toys just for eating lunch. Wherever we went we would sit by the window and people watch. It was a good time.

That kind of spoiled me on the whole grocery shopping thing because now grocery shopping doesn’t mean free lunch and a fun afternoon with dad. Now grocery shopping means finding some time during your busy life to go out and purchase the items you need to keep your family nourished and energized.

The grocery store isn’t an adventure anymore but I think we can fix this. I have some ideas:

First, maybe you should write your grocery list with riddles and make it a scavenger hunt. Give it to a loved one and see how many items they get right.

Second, bring a friend, split the list in half, and race to see who can finish first. Sabotage is encouraged.

Third, buy cake. Everybody loves cake and the excitement of being able to go home and eat the cake will make you more excited to finish the list and be done.

Fourth, buy wine. Everybody loves wine and the excitement of being able to go home and drink the wine will make you more excited to finish the list and be done.

Fifth, buy beer. Everybody loves beer and the excitement of being able to go home and drink the beer will make you more excited to finish the list and be done.

I think those are all great ideas and you can put them all together to make it an even bigger better idea! And be sure to ignore the voice over the PA telling you to stop running! Hooray!

Here’s the happy moment… This gives me a new idea:

Leave a Reply

