Those lazy hazy crazy days of summer

It finally feels like summer here and I am finally inspired to celebrate it so I made a list of awesome summer things.

I know that if you’re like me and most adult type people, you probably work a lot and this list seems impossible but you should just try to make it happen because what’s the point of summer existing if you don’t take a little me time to be awesome.

Here is a list of all of the great things you can do to make this summer great:

Go outside

This one is easy. Just open the door and step out. Go to a park or just sit in your backyard and read.

Read good books

That’s an important part of any season but people always seem to have more time in the summer. Or less. Who knows? We should just read more. Here are some suggestions for some hilarious books that I have read:
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

I Suck At Girls by Justin Halpern

Dear Girls Above Me by Charlie McDowell

Any of Jen Lancaster’s Memoirs… This was the first one I read and I loved every minute of it.

These are not the newest books but they have all made me laugh out loud. I will admit though that I’m only about half-way done with Dear Girls Above Me but it just keeps getting better.

You could also take this time to catch up on old classics or books that people always tell you to read like Harry Potter.

You can probably skip Twilight and 50 Shade of Gray but that’s just my opinion.

Wear bright nail polish and dresses

This tip is for the ladies. I guess the fellas can take this tip too, I mean if you really want to. No judging.

Go on a road trip or a vacation or something just get out of town

Whether you are exploring the next town over or your state or the country or another country or whatever, just get out and see something new. Do something different. Put a new pin in your map.

Put together a pickup game of something

Dodgeball is fun. So is kickball. Baseball. Basketball. Flashlight tag.
When I was a kid, all of the neighborhood kids would get together and played German Spotlight which, if you don’t know, is a really awesome game that combines flashlight tag and hide and go seek. I’ve been wanting to get a bunch of people together to play again.

Catch a concert or a festival

Summer is a big season for concerts. They are everywhere and a lot of them are free so do some research and see if someone awesome is playing near you.

There are also a lot of festivals in the summer and those can be really fin because there is a lot of good food, good music, good people, and often a carnival. I always seem to end up at an Italian festival in the summer time and before you ask, no, I’m not Italian. It just happens.

Go to the beach

I don’t really think that I have to explain why you should go to the beach but I guess I will just for kicks.

Because it’s fun and beautiful.

Boom.

Go to a baseball game

Major league, Minor League, little league. Nothing says summer like a hotdog at a baseball game.

Go Cubs!

Go to a museum

Get out there and learn something.

Or do this:

And for those rainy days catch up on awesome TV shows

If it’s rainy and you have nothing to do, Get started on those shows that everyone tells you to watch. That way you can be all caught up on them by the beginning of the new fall seasons. That’s what Netflix is for!

Here’s some more for your list:
Parks and Recreation

Bob’s Burgers

The League

Doctor Who

You’re welcome.

That’s all I’ve got. The biggest tip that I can give you is just do something with your free time. It’s no fun to waste your summer on doing nothing.

Let me know if you have any more tips to having a great summer.

Here’s your happy moment:

Check out the guy on the side. He is definitely inspired to enjoy a sunshine day. He is like “I agree with everything they are talking about. I do indeed dig that sunshine, Bobby Brady.”

I dig it too, Bobby.

Happy summer people!

Leave a Reply

