25– Still alive!

I know that seems like a harsh statement. A coworker said that I should wait until I’m 85 to say that but I don’t think that’s true. I’m a pretty clumsy human being. I’m sometimes shocked that I made it this far.

I turned 25 on Monday and people keep asking me how I feel. I’ll tell you exactly how I feel: Old.

My body aches, I’ve been tired all week and my vision is getting worse.

To be honest, I can justify the first two. I spent the weekend being a professional bridesmaid; I stood up in two weddings in two days. I’m pretty sure I just danced all weekend.

But the vision thing sucks, right? Right.

Anyway, with a birthday comes a new year. I always think that is so wildly overlooked in our society. Yeah, January 1st is the start of a new year in terms of numbers but technically, our birthday is the start of our new year.

That’s why I want to talk about resolutions. First, let’s start with what I did last year:

I tried actually doing stuff. I went out more and tried new things. I went on a road trip and organized a team for a 5k walk/run. I went to a party where I only knew four people and had a blast. I joined a fantasy football league and last week I won my first matchup. I watched my favorite hockey team win the Stanley cup. I got a promotion.

It’s been a pretty amazing year. It’s also been a really crazy year but I don’t really think we need to talk about the bad stuff.

So what do I do now?

I think this year, I’ll keep going with the “Actually live your life” resolution. It’s pushed me to try a lot of things and I love it.

At the same time I’m going to try to write more because I’ve been neglecting you all. Hopefully now that wedding season is over things can get back to normal and you will start hearing from me on a regular basis again. You’re welcome.

I’m really excited about my new job so my other resolution is to push harder and be better about certain things. I think for a while I was burned out and I need to snap back into the swing of things.

So that’s it. Do stuff, write stuff, and snap into my life because I am now a quarter of a century old and when you look at it that way, it makes you feel extra old.

You only have one life to live.

Yolo

(I’m not a huge fan of this terminology but it’s true)

And don’t forget to have fun!

And now for the happy moment:

Nothing says birthday like an animatronic band

Leave a Reply

