I dont even know what to say about this

Ok, so, Elle magazine put out four different covers featuring four different popular television actresses for their most recent issue; Zooey Deschanel, Amy Poehler, Allison Williams, and Mindy Kaling. The other three women were photographed showing most of their bodies where Mindy Kaling’s photo was only a head-shot.

This is where the controversy started.

So I’m watching TV and wasting time on the internet looking at celebrity gossip (which is not something that I’m terribly proud of however it’s a guilty pleasure so whatever) and this story:

http://wonderwall.msn.com/tv/mindy-kaling-on-elle-cover-critics-i-feel-like-theyre-insulting-me-1791235.story

Came up on the side bar with Mindy Kaling’s face. The caption read “Fat Shaming?”

It was only a few days ago when I saw an article about how excited Mindy Kaling was to be on the cover of a Fashion Magazine for the first time and now there was this. Why?

So, of course I read the new article and it made me unhappy. Like really unhappy. Let’s be honest, I was pissed off. I’m going to borrow a quote. Mindy Kaling told David Letterman about the controversy:

“There was a weird reaction which was, ‘Does Elle magazine think Mindy’s not skinny enough to show her whole body like standing up from head to toe?'” Kaling explained. “The sort of implication, what they kept saying was like, ‘What Elle, you can’t put her big fat body on the magazine? Why because she’s just fat and gruesome? Why shouldn’t we look at her beautiful fat body?’ And I was like, ‘Okay, people who are trying to defend me,'” the actress quipped. “I just feel like they’re kind of insulting me!”

The funny thing is that Kaling is very happy with her cover, “It’s black and white. It looks like I died at my most beautiful,” she joked. “It looks like this is a dead person that they’re like, ‘How could we have taken her away at so young. If only a million dollars for another second with this…”

This isn’t the first time that there has been controversy like this with Elle magazine. A few months ago, Melissa McCarthy was on the cover wearing a coat.

http://wonderwall.msn.com/tv/melissa-mccarthy-elle-cover-controversy-i-wanted-to-look-like-the-walk-of-shame-1780686.story

People were all upset that the coat was hiding her body. Let me borrow another quote. Melissa McCarthy told Jay Leno:

“I picked out the coat. I had a great little black dress on [underneath]. We live here in L.A. and I was like, ‘I can’t wait for fall I’m so sick of the hot weather.’ So I was like, ‘Is that cashmere?’ So I ran upstairs and then jacket-gate started!”

And speaking of Melissa McCarthy, remember “Bridesmaids?”

Controversy struck in 2011 over the movie poster.

My friend sent me an article about this back when the movie came out.

http://www.thefrisky.com/2011-05-13/the-lone-plus-size-woman-in-bridesmaids-wearing-a-different-dress/

Every actress in the picture is wearing a short strapless dress and showing a little cleavage. But not McCarthy, her dress is a little longer and she’s wearing a jacket. She also isn’t showing as much cleavage. This upset some people. They felt that she was being oppressed by the people who made the movie because she is a plus sized woman.

But here’s the thing, if you pay attention to Melissa McCarthy, which I do because I like her. I think she’s hilarious and I’ve loved her since she was Sookie on Gilmore Girls.

I do pay attention to her. I notice her on talk shows and red carpet events and movies and TV shows and do you know what I see? A woman who doesn’t show her upper arms and from what I can tell from observation alone, it would appear to me that this is her choice. It’s not the craziest thing in the world, it’s just a preference and a lot of women feel that way about their own arms. To be honest it’s not really my favorite thing either.

Also, I’d like to point out that her character in that particular movie would’ve never worn a super tight super sexy dress either.

And that’s what I found so frustrating about that article in particular. The blogger who wrote it recognizes that fact that you never see Melissa McCarthy’s arms and points out that it’s possible that she’s uncomfortable with that. But then the author goes into a whole story about how she’s a size 18 and she’s so comfortable with her body and she wears short skirts and strapless dresses and isn’t it great how confident she is and all the plus sized girls should be just as confident. She says that she thinks the world would accept Melissa McCarthy if she showed a little skin and I’m reading it like “aw geez really? Wow! Thanks for saying that. I’m sure she’ll rush right out and cut all of the sleeves off her clothes.”

No she won’t, do you know why? Because she’s not a 16 year old plus sized girl with confidence issues waiting to be told that everything will be ok. She is a grown woman who knows her body and knows what she’s comfortable with and I really don’t think that there is a confidence issue there.

Mindy Kaling said in the latest episode of The Mindy Project, “There is nothing that you can criticize about this situation that I haven’t already heard from every mean girl for my entire life.” The situation she is talking about is her body. They know what’s going on; they don’t need to be told.

I suppose I should get to my point and that is that there are too many people out there who feel the need to fight causes that don’t need to be fought. Mindy Kaling didn’t ask to be defended in the fight against full figured women. Melissa McCarthy didn’t ask to be defended from the evil people who give her jackets.

Before you decide to fight for a cause, get all of your facts straight. Both of these women liked their Elle Magazine Cover Photos. There was nothing to be upset about. Why is there always a need to start controversy?

Instead of focusing on what’s not showing, let’s focus on what is. Here we have two bright, funny, beautiful actresses who both look incredibly fashionable and gorgeous on the cover of a popular fashion magazine. Yes, neither of them is a size zero but why do we have to focus on that?

And now I feel like I used the word controversy a lot for a blog posted on this page. I don’t normally do that so I’m gonna be done now. Here’s your happy moment. It features both of these funny ladies being gorgeous

Leave a Reply

